2003-07-29

It still feels like I'm living in a hotel. Not a hotel. It's not really furnished like a hotel (it's not really furnished). It feels like I'm living in someone else's house. Like they are on vacation and this is only temporary. I went home to pick up the shoes that arrived (McSweeney's 11 also came today) and I felt like a visitor, which I guess I am - I don't have a bedroom there anymore. So I'll pull out a quote from master troubadour Neil Leslie Diamond's 'I Am I Said': "Well I'm New York City born and raised/ But nowadays, I'm lost between two shores/ L.A.'s fine, but it ain't home/ New York's home, but it ain't mine nooooo more." (SONG LYRICS?!?! That's what 15 year old girls do!) [But it's Neil Diamond] (I thought you swore him off after the last concert - which was trite and predictable, to say the least) [It's still Neil Diamond] (You just like being surrounded by screaming old ladies, don't you?) [Yes. What's your point?] (Nothing, except song lyrics = 15 year old girls). Anyway, I'll settle into a nice rut here and the metaphorical Los Angeles will become home.

I woke up too late to make a sandwich this morning, which is what I always intend to do so I don't have to spend money on lunch but I remembered today that I can actually walk home, make lunch, engage myself with some light reading and go back to the office. That's what I did. By the way, pepper doesn't go so well with ham. It's more of a poultry thing.

There was a girl with whom I had this inside joke - we would be compatible if married because we both love Honey Nut Cheerios. Four years later I still love them with the passion of a passion fruit (I couldn't think of anything that was really passionate). I wonder if she still does.

My brother has a sudden interest in ant farming.

There's an utterly brilliant-looking man who lives down the hall from me. Let me try to describe him: he looks German. Maybe like one of the nihilists on The Big Lebowski if they had longer hair, like Dirk Nowitzki. But he dresses in the very metropolitan professional style that is pushed by retailers like Banana Republic. I'd like to sit down and listen to this guy talk about the differences in IPAs when you use different varieties of hops, since I think that's something he might know about.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com