2003-08-06

NPR said corporations are showing healthy profits. The story that followed said non-profits are struggling. If you've never shown a profit, hence your name - non-profit, how can you be struggling? It's status quo, it's expected, it is your nature that you not be profitable. What is struggling to a non-profit? "Our non-existent profits are more non-existent than ever before."

I was plugging away at something this morning and the guy who is at the fore of this project came in and asked me to join this meeting about some things that need to be done before a client meeting next week. I put in about a week's worth of work on it and I know basically what's going on, so why not kill some time? For over 2 hours I sat there while a pair of men debated theory and deconstructed process. It was probably good that I was at the meeting, since I was trusted to actualize all the theory/process talk.

There's a guy who works in my office who is 23 - just months older than me. He has a liberal arts degree and holds the title "office clerk" which always makes me think of Kafka, because isn't that what all his characters are? Clerks of some type? I wonder if he has all sorts of problems like Kafka's characters. Fuck. We all have problems.

Artist/song title or song title/artist as friendly notes or conversation slices with slightly different contexts than the original song title:

"I'm real.
Jennifer Lopez"

"I wanna be your dog.
Uncle Tupelo"

"Jennifer Lopez,
I'm real."

"Son Volt mystifies me."

"You're the one for me.
-Beta Band"

"Ryan Adams, why do they leave?"

"Celine Dion, I hate you then I love you."

"Here's to the rest of the world, Whiskeytown."

"I'll be back.
-The Beatles"

"Van Morrison,
I'll be your lover, too."

"Wilco, say you miss me."

And so on, but those came to mind. It's an unamusing exercise that shouldn't be undertaken by anyone.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com