2003-08-08

2003: The Year of The Lemon-Lime Gatorade

The woman who played Tamara Jacobs, Pacey's first love interest on Dawson's Creek, was 43 at the time of filming. She was born in Forks (notice on that map that Courtenay and Abbotsford are labeled, but Victoria is not).

On Saturday Sunday, idiot. Robb Benson solo at 4pm (Old Timers), Robb Benson with Dear John Letters at 5pm (The Central). This is mostly a reminder for me. Radio Nationals at 7pm at Old Timers, too.

Torschlusspanik - The fear of young women that they will not be married until they are too old to have children. (Generally, it is the fear of opportunities lost but I like the more specific one better)

Someone wrote that they were a "conseirge." And while I have no reason not to believe them, it makes me wonder if they actually were a concierge, since most people can spell the title of their occupation with a reasonable amount of accuracy.

What made my day today?
A two hour lunch that included the comment, "I like food that hurts."
Project done and find out that I'll be light the next week or two. While being light is bad in a number of ways, it enables me to sleep, which is something I haven't done much of this week.
Seeing a guy who looked and talked too much like Corey Feldman.
The Morning Red Girl was wearing a red cardigan.

Yesterday I was sharing an elevator with a woman in my apt building and I thought about saying, "WHAT IF THE ELEVATOR GOT STUCK AND YOU HAD A BABY?" Because that's so much more appropriate than "DO YOU LIKE THE AEROSMITH SONG ABOUT BABY-MAKING IN ELEVATORS?"

Songs I like to hear karaokeed (what's the past tense of the verb "to karaoke"?):
Johnny Cash - "Folsom Prison Blues"
The Kinks - "Come Dancing"
Lou Reed, "Take A Walk on the Wild Side" (but the "doo-doodoo-doo-doodoo" part has to be done right)
Ben Folds Five - Army
Elvis Costello - Radio, Radio
Kenny Rogers - See What My Condition My Condition Was In (another Lebowski reference - 3 today)
The Clash - Rudie Can't Fail
Cheap Trick - "I Want You to Want Me" (as above, "didn'I didn'I didn'I see you cryyyin" part must done properly)

Of "Folsom Prison Blues," I saw some people dancing to this song today. Not the Johnny Cash version, but it was performed pretty similarly. The way they were dancing was a little dissonant with the song, though. Maybe it's because the way I think people should dance like in the World Famous Jack Rabbit Slim's Twist Contest. That's dancing. People can also dance in a manner befitting music that is played on a jug ("Lisa, never ever stop playing in the middle of a hoedown.")

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com