2003-08-10

I like seeing bands watching other bands. But let me rant, shall we? The fluffy prom shirts? Those need to stop. And the soul patch can go with it.

The guy in his 30s watching The Pale made me think, "Yes. I should get married at some point, because I'm not going to be this asshole." How can I describe him? Think inconsequential tagalong to the 80s teen movie jerk. Then he's an adult. And he goes tanning. And he frosts his hair. And he has a soul patch. And a denim hat. And so on. You get the idea.

But he's obviously single. So now I feel scared into getting married so I don't end up like him or anything close to him. Thus, if you are interested in getting serious about a "IF WE AREN'T MARRIED BY SUCH AND SUCH" deal, then LET ME KNOW. I'm looking at something like age 28 to 32 for me (a 6 to 10 year horizon). You can decide on the specific date (though I am partial to Tuesday November 6th, 2012 - the day we elect the first robot president, who will be a Good Robot, unlike the Evil Robot that will certainly takeover in a bloodless [because robots don't have blood, but it will have a lot of robot casualties] coup)

Anyway, I like The Pale. Thursday the 14th at The Croc (allegedly 18+). Tuesday the 19th Dear John Letters is there. And I like them a lot.

The best throw pillows in the world. My favorites: the hooker, the grenade, the joystick, the ghettoblaster.

More metadecorating (THIS DECORATING CONCEPT WILL CATCH ON, GODDAMMIT!!!): get one framed picture. Then take a picture of it hanging on your wall. Frame the picture of the picture. Take a picture of the picture of the picture. And so on.

Yet another idea for decorating walls: pictures of other peoples' rooms. Your living room would have 3 or 4 large pictures of normal living rooms in their normal state of affairs (i.e. a soiled plate on the coffee table, DVDs in general disarray, the TV blaring, etc). Bedrooms have pictures of other bedrooms, bathrooms for bathrooms, closets for closets (why don't we decorate a closet! What a good idea!)

I'M SO FULL OF DECORATING IDEAS IT HURTS BUT IT IS A RELIEF WHEN I FINALLY PURGE THEM FROM MY ACHING HEAD. Build a window sill thing - like the part you would see of a window from the inside of the house, except no window. Don't be afraid to recess it into the wall for a better effect. Instead of a window to the outside use a picture. Use a picture of what you would see if a window was there. Or use something that's completely different, I don't care. But here comes the important part: put pies on the window sill. Nice, huh? The only pie thievery (Pie Pirating! Pie-rating! Ahhh... glad I worked that in) would be from your internal customers. If a politician said something like "A chicken in every pot and a pie on every windowsill" I would totally vote for her or him. Because that's a lot of pie (provided they doesn't try to weasel out of it with something like chicken pot pie, which is more of a casserole). Pies on window sills: the next big thing. Watch it explode like fanny packs or SUVs or Interpol or Mac & Jack's or pumpkin futures around Halloween.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com