2003-08-17

I went home for dinner and noticed that the summer league swim/tennis team are rebranding themselves as the "Dragons." It doesn't make a lick of sense to me. For as long as I can remember there hasn't been a mascot before. Why acquire one now? And I guess I see the logic in not using an overly water-bound creature (dolphin, shark, barracuda - all used by swim teams across the nation) because the point is to bring the teams together and that would just alienate the tennis playaz. But why not something like the Semi-Terrestrial Demon Creatures? Which can both swim and play tennis as well as anyone or anything, since those abilities come along with being a demon.

I picked up 2 Michael Chabon books at the library because he is so wildly popular. First I read Mysteries of Pittsburgh, which was published 10 or 15 years ago and I liked it quite fine. Then I started reading Kavalier and Clay, which everyone seems to like so well, and I just did not like that particular book. I stopped after a 100 or so pages.

She used three adverbs in a row and then I stopped paying attention. I wouldn't have stopped paying attention if one of them was equiponderantly which I just heard a few days ago and I love to pieces.

Amazon's policy on shipping to prisons.

80s commercials

I suppose I could imagine myself buying a house at some point - not a condo, but an actual house. And I there are 2 types of lawn mowers I would consider: the robot lawnmower and the no-motor push mower. Because of all the things in the world, mowing the lawn is one of the most miserable things for me, so robot lawnmower is an attractive idea. The no-motor push mower is attractive because my dad always mowed the lawn with the car window open and the baseball game playing - not that he could actually hear the game, since the 4-stroke engine* didn't allow him to. But I grew up thinking that is how you mow a lawn: baseball game on radio, filthy tennis shoes, expressionless face. I'd do the same, except I think I'd like to hear the game in question. And I imagine I could make this activity somewhat fun with a dorky hat and a shirt with a binary joke or a completely different binary joke. And wear dark socks with Birkenstocks or tennis shoes.

* - I had the differences between 2 stroke, 3 stroke and 4 stroke engines explained to me in 9th grade metal shop. While I don't really remember them now, I did receive a well-deserved "C+" in that class. I vaguely remember disassembling an engine and someone burning themselves on the hot end of a piece of aluminum that came off the disc sander. I wish I didn't have to take that class.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com