2003-08-18

There's a barbecue restaurant that's owned by 2 old white guys. They move kind of slow and deliberately. It's only open 2.5 hours per day, 5 days per week. Everything tastes good. These are my favorite kind of restaurants.

The worst article in the history of newspapers

Weekdaysly, I wake up to NPR* and they have all these sponsoring foundations, some which want you to know their mission. And sometimes I struggle mightily to see the connection between their professed mission and the choice to sponsor NPR. But the best missions are the ones that are a little non-sequitirish. However, that's neither here nor there. Let's pool some money a buy a spot for our foundation, The Brunch-Eaters' Foundation, dedicated to preventing robot-human marriages and keeping construction paper in sexually deviant colors (red, black, yellow, orange, gray, blue, purple, green, etc.) out of our public schools.

* - Not entirely true, since I set 2 alarms, 1 for 5am and another for 6am and the one at 5am isn't NPR, but I really just lean over and turn it off and go back to sleep. You might be wondering why I do this. I'm not really sure why, since as I tell you this, it doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me.

Old people talking about their aches and pains is funny at first, then it gets kind of sad and then you just don't want to hear about it anymore.

Why wins/losses basically mean nothing for a pitcher and should be ignored: Julio Mateo throws 2 pitches and gets a victory. For a pitcher, wins, losses and saves are more or less a function of when the pitcher gives up runs and when his team scores runs. Aggregate statistics like that are very misleading. For hitters, an analog would be RBIs (or worse - Game Winning RBIs, which may have been the least meaningful statistic ever and I'm glad they got rid of it).

Graduate programs I'm thinking about in an abstract, distant way, since this is several years in the future:

Berkeley/Haas Financial Engineering, MBA | Chicago - Financial mathematics, MBA | GA Tech - QCF | Carnegie-Mellon - Computational Finance, MBA | Michigan - FinEng | Cornell - FE | Columbia - FE | Texas - Energy finance MBA | Stanford - FinMath | Claremont - FE

To note: my chances of getting into a program are inversely proportional to its distance from academic stuff. That is, a business school is more likely to have me than a math department. This is mostly because, despite the mathness I think/pretend I have, I possess so much more street credibility in management circles than in math circles. Texas and Berkeley seem most interesting, but I'm young and my brain is malleable - like a pie dough.

(THERE WAS TOO MUCH SELF-CONGRATULATION THERE. START WITH THE SELF-DEPRECATION)

I did next to nothing at work today. The most productive thing I did was look at laptops.

(ENOUGH OF THAT, SMARTYPANTS. LET'S SEE YOUR FANCYPANTS.)

I'm afraid I don't what you are talking about.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com