2003-08-28

With a sincere hope that I'm not violating some unspoken trust that we have, I'm going to be honest with you. Honest honest. Not my usual lying honest. Or honest lying.

There are days when you wake up and evaluate your life up to this point with a too heavy scale. 1. Yes, I'm quite happy where I am. 2. There's a number of things I could be doing that I'd be happy doing. 3. One year ago today, if you asked me where I was going to be, I would've answered: I'll probably be entering a PhD program at one of America's learning places.

Understand that graduate school is not where I should be (I still write immaturely and I'd end up choking a professor because of how seriously he or she takes him/herself). There's also a difference between "I can go" and "I should go" which thankfully set in before I committed myself to the option. Because I really I had no particular reason to go other than maybe I was afraid of getting a job and a PhD was an option that would postpone that for a few years.

And it's such a privileged class thing to have internal debates about graduate school. "Oh, woe is me! I think faaaaather took the driver and the Rolls to the gentlemen's club. I so wanted to go sailing at this very moment. If only we had purchased that estate on the waaaaahter instead of this shithole on the country club."

And externalizing these debates just makes you an asshole.

---

LINEN SUITS ARE THE NEXT BIG THING. Because when you are spending a weekend in the country, you need to dress like you take your recreation seriously.

I sort of joke about it, but I do love linen suits (I'm not talking about Miami Vice, though) and all that sort of Gatsby-style elegance. And I wish more men would dress nicer. Not formal wear, just make it look like you are a few tax brackets above where you actually are. My favorite favorite is suspenders and striped dress shirts.

---

So I've been listening to a lot of un-me music lately. Steel/slack key guitar from the 1920s and 30s, mostly. Like Mississippi delta blues/gospel and Hawaiian stuff (not Don Ho. But why does this sound make people think you are roasting a pig and have a pineapple nearby? Is there a way to surgically separate this sound from its surrounding kitsch, so normal people can listen to it without being ridiculed?).

---

Fired fair employee strips, flees, gets hit by train. What you need to know about this article: smoking an unknown narcotic from a glass pipe, attempted to steal money from another carnival worker, went to a women's restroom where he exposed himself, groped women as he ran, tried to jump aboard a train even though it was traveling about 45 mph.

---

I usually walk through one skyscraper on my way to and from work - because skyscrapers have escalators. Today I noticed the most unwholesome sign I've ever seen in a retail area of a skyscraper: "HOT JUICE" I don't have any idea either.

"The copier is running again. Thank you for your patients."

The Bombay Palace All-You-Can-Eat Buffet: a post colonial perspective. As though it were torn from an in-class lecture at an excessively liberal college.

----

Consumers in the Seattle-Tacoma area pay the most for milk (August 13, 2003)

Fewer processors, slumping prices dry up dairy operations (August 28, 2003)

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com