2003-10-16

1. In my office I can't usually tell if it's raining or not because the building's tall and other buildings are tall and some other reasons. I have to lean over and look out onto the street. But today it was pouring and I could hear the wind snapping at the windows and the building was making noises. It was like a 9 hour theme park ride. The kind where you stare at a screen and your chair sort of moves. It was like this because of my rolling chair. A pretty good day.

2. The new Frank Black album is okay. I don't think it's quite as bad as Pitchfork makes it out to be. You probably don't need to own it.

3. From this morning's pseudo-breakfast: Why am I pouring myself a glass of orange juice? I am an actualized being. I should be actively imposing my will on the rest of the world. I should be drinking straight from the plastic jug. I should be running through traffic and jumping on top of cars and screaming the drivers of such cars and then using the company fax machines to spam-fax my manifesto across the universe.

Re: orange juice. I like pulp-free orange juice. Who doesn't, right? But I guess there's some people who like pulpy orange juice even better. And I think that's fine, but maybe we could sell the pulp separately (or just put it in a little container in the juice aisle that says "FREE PULP") so all the juice is pulp free? That way, when I'm eating breakfast at a restaurant I can be confident that their orange juice will be completely free of pulp. Because when I'm not entirely confident, I order apple juice.

4. Re: being meta. When we are talking about what's meta, is that even more or less meta than what we're talking about? Is there diminishing marginal returns to meta-ness? (If not, do you mean to suggest that meta-ness is an inexhaustible resource? If it's inexhaustible, why haven't we tried extracting power from it like wind or tides?) Is there an upperbound on meta-ness? If so, what is it? What happens when you reach it?

5. Yay hooray for being 22.93 years old and watching fucking cartoons.

6. My mom asked me what I wanted for my Christmas and I thought about getting smart with her but I've grown up, sort of, and I exercised restraint. Besides, she seemed too excited about new silver. What do I want for Christmas?

7. A sign in Yankee Stadium that highlights 2 things. First, some people are confused as fuck about grammar and punctuation. Second, those people seem excited to show off their ignorance. The sign read: "All great classic's end's up here"

8. I want to sleep.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com