2003-10-24

1. I respectfully disagree, because iTunes for Windows needs some work. Not surprisingly, the article was written by a Mac user.

2. Once, in dark days full of ignorance, I thought that a souffle was "just whipped egg whites". While simple, it is more than just whipped egg whites! It does take a little culinary mental capital to make, but it's not terribly difficult and the results will make you switch religions. Still tastes good (not quite as good) when served cold, too.

Also, since I now consider myself a renowned expert on chocolate souffle, which gives me authority to throw down on chocolate souffles and I had all of this excess adrenaline from making a the souffle so it made me want to go punch the moon in the face.

3. The Seattle Marathon goes right in front of my apartment. Unfortunately, this thing starts at like 8:15 on a Sunday and it passes my apartment in the early part of the race, so that's pretty close to 8:15. Who gets up that early on a Sunday besides marathon runners, newspaper deliverers and roosters? I don't think I do. But if you do and you want to drink hot cocoa and eat scones and watch the marathon, just make sure you clean up after yourself and slide the key under the door as you leave.

4. I will not say anything interesting or deep or meaningful, but my favorite Elliott Smith song is "How to Take a Fall" which was a B-side to something I can't remember. I do remember buying the self-titled album at the local independent music/skateboard store, which always charges more but that extra is the price of indie cred, I guess. I put it in the glove compartment, unopened, and it became a nice surprise a few weeks later when I listened to it straight through two or three times while driving to Portland. So when I hear a few of those songs I start thinking about Burgerville hamburgers, rainy days and the Burnside Powell's.

5. Apartheid and birthdays are just awful.

6. Hey... what's going on here?

7. Don't bother trying to figure out why I'm fascinated to pieces by the KeyTower construction project. And yes, that is flour in my freezer.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com