2003-12-21

I'm not sure if the image that follows is a joke or something, but most people know that hockey players are from Canada (60% of all players in 98-99, scroll down).

I don't know what they mean. Only hockey games that take place in America? Only featuring American players? Only using American announcers and crew? Or are they trying to be hilarious because people in America don't like hockey and most players are not American-born? I don't get it. The factory is neat, though. I like factories.

I made this tasty cake for Thanksgiving, but I can't remember which recipe I used. But basically all the recipes for the cake use the exact same ingredients - chocolate (semi-sweet, bittersweet or something very little unsweetened), separated eggs, butter, sugar and flour. So I've basically been coming up with THE CONSENSUS CAKE by taking the amount of the ingredient per serving and averaging it across all recipes, then scaling it to the number of people I need to serve. It seems perfectly logical to me. The only hurdle will be getting the last 0.34 of the 7.34 egg whites. At this point, I have guarded optimism for CONSENSUS COOKING, though I do think it's going to go places (really big places). I think CONSENSUS COOKING will bring a lot of people together, because by its very nature it's something we can all agree on. It's not rattling the foundations of cooking - it's basically an inventory of where we are, right now, at this point in the history of cooking. I imagine a cookbook with a picture of me standing by a big stainless steel thing in a chef's coat with my arms folded and a humorless smirk across my face.

Based on a simple scoring system that I use to rank a lot of things in a lot of different places in my life - the sum of absolute values of z-scores or sum(abs([amount of ingredient per serving - average of amt of ingredient per serving of all recipes]/stdev(amt of ingredient per serving for all recipes))) - this one is closest to the middle, but it doesn't list servings, so I solved for the number of servings that would minimize the score (since a low score = close to middle). That's cheating. It also asks for 4.5 pounds of chocolate. It's also for small individual cakes, not an 8" or 9" springform pan, so it doesn't get included in the cooking temperature/time thing (heat is an ingredient).

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com