2004-01-17

Spent the better part of Friday documenting dozens upon dozens of problems with a craptastically broken database that a client sent us. I can't believe that they actually use it for anything in real life. And I had my pseudo-monthly "mentor" meeting today and I've come to think these are okay, since it's like cheap therapy that I'm actually getting paid to go to. I get to talk about all the great things I've done, some upcoming stuff and a few problems and then my plans for the future and he's always encouraging me. Very refreshing. It's like shouting at yourself in the mirror ("YOU ARE SO FUCKING AWESOME! I THINK YOU ARE SUCH HOT SHIT! WHY AREN'T YOU SELLING TRENDY MALT BEVERAGES ON TELEVISION?") without the stigma that people attach to it.

I was in Belltown today and I walked past a hipster (in THAT part of town? You don't say...) saying almost the perfect hipster thing to his hipster friend: "I hate fruity drinks. I drink martinis and beer." Isn't that cute? I figured that he must be a complex, sophisticated dilletante with a natural gift for keen-eyed observations about the human condition, so I'm letting him live rent free with me, and I have my very own artist and social critic in residence. Tonight we're sitting around listening to Meatloaf records and eating McDonald's hamburgers ironically. Tomorrow he's going to teach me how to haggle with cocaine dealers and order a mojito without looking like a dickhead.

Celebrated spending Saturday afternoon at work by making a cornucopia of cheesecakes. Small cheesecakes bake at 350 in a water bath for the amount of time it takes to watch one episode of Felicity on Tivo ("a neeeeeeeew version of yoooooooou") (P.S. I get the feeling Tivo thinks I'm black), which is about 40-45 minutes. Refrigerate. Also, I saw the most devastatingly gorgeous man of my entire life when I was in Capitol Hill today. He was buying bread, eggs and four 1 liter bottles of Gatorade. I wanted to swallow him whole so no one else could ever look at him.

Breaking a long string of making only minor or inconsequential decisions, I've decided to sit for the CFA exam. There's also a DC trip preliminarily planned for June (June is National Dairy, Audiobook, Safety/Disaster Preparedness/Fireworks Safety, Scleroderma Awareness, Iced Tea, Turkey Lovers', Homeownership and Rivers Awareness Month).

Don't do crack. It's a ghetto drug.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com