2004-02-20

Since I got the new laptop, I've been doing more fast-paced, young turks, urban digerati things. Like buying shit off of iTunes (hooray! now there's an electronic record somewhere of my proclivity for dork rock! also hooray for Pepsi for finally giving away something that I find worthwhile! boo for me, because I'm finding that I kind of like iTunes now [Dawson's Creek relationship dynamic characterization: Pacey and Andy's bitter, sometimes mean spirited flirtations giving way to wholesome teenage lust]) and sitting around a deli/grocery/coffee shop disaffectedly staring into a computer screen while I check stock prices (technically not stock prices, but the options reflected the price of the underlying stock, so it's sort of that) and shoot off mouthy emails. And update this stupid thing.

I had the worst lunch today, which spurred me to go buy meat at the grocery store, since I hadn't had any around for a month or two. It was also a trip home this weekend, when I had some kind of meat with breakfast, lunch and dinner. I hadn't eaten 3 meals in one day since the last time I visited my parents. It's very strange. They have so much pre-prepared food. It's very easy to eat there. I make it very difficult on myself - I like to control everything from start to finish (P.S. a Whisper Mill would make a good present) - and keep almost nothing around that's actually prepared, but that's also kind of because I basically hate having branded things around while I eat. Advertising is even worse. Those awful little flippy advertising things that "corporate dining" restaurants have on tables (they usually feature ads for various types of popular liquors made palatable with the addition of sugary liquids - Jack Daniels and Coke, Smirnoff and a cacophony of synthetic fruit flavors, etc).

I was going to get very tangential about relationships with food - but I'm not interested in getting really philosophical right now. Though lately I've been thinking about this album I've had for years - Stanford Prison Experiment. The only thing I can remember about it is that I think all the songs sound the same, except I only like one song. In an attempt to unwrap the enigma, I went looking for it. Naturally, I couldn't find it.

During Dawson's Creek - which airs at 10am and 11am (Pacific) - there's this commercial for that makes a suggestion "if you have lost more than $50,000 in the stock market". I think the ad is well reasoned, because a lot of people who sit around and watch Dawson's Creek during the day throw a ton of their money at the stock market. Actually, I think it's because people who sit around and watch Dawson's Creek during the day are keen on fast money.

What else? In the last week, 2 more of my friends let me know that they are engaged. It used to bother me. Not so much anymore. Probably because I have new toys. It might bother me again when the novelty wears off.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com