2004-04-15

1. My new GPS receiver came today. GPS receivers are pretty dorky things to own. I like them. This one is small. It's slightly bigger than one of my eyeglass lenses (use it with NetStumbler and you can develop your very own database of open wireless access points).

2. The past few pay periods have been bad for me. I've worked a lot of overtime, which is good for me, I guess, but when I'm doing this I never remember to actually do my timesheets (despite getting numerous emails that alert me of their due date). So now I've been getting nasty voicemails and handwritten letters from payroll people. I baked them some banana bread with an apology (like flowers or colors of flowers or , baked goods carry a certain meaning - banana bread is "I'll try harder").

3. But I'm solving all sorts of problems right now. I'm crapping solutions.

4. At work, I have to run this (normally very accurate) simulation that takes an unbelievable amount of computing power - before I leave, I set it up to run distributed on a trio of 2 GHz machines and it still takes 10 or 11 hours before it's done. So this is ends up being a lot like the days where you'd have a bunch of punchcards, put them in a machine, cross your fingers and hope that everything was right. I've been logging into the terminals to check on its progress. It's scary sometimes - all this money that a client has paid us to develop this model and I put all this time into and basically I've wound it up and let it go - it's like giving free will to something you create (except it's not, because I have a lot of constraints built into it, so it's like Free Will - now with Moral Compass!).

5. My youngest, closest coworker is leaving for B-school in June. I think the youngest person in my group will be 10 years older than me. Still, I had a nice conversation about venues to see punk bands with them today.

6. I had the best dinna eva. But there was a table of 3 incredibly awful people next to me. Two of them spoke in soundbites that seemed to be drawn from a library of self-help books ("You are in a change cycle. You should be feeling different - you're supposed to as you navigate and break though and emerge.") The other one used the phrase "That's great" in the same way Quentin Tarantino uses swear words in his films. About every 5th word was "That's" or "great".

7. In second grade there was this girl who would chase me around, tackle me, punch me a few times and kiss me. What happened to this kind of sincere, direct courtship? ("I choo-choo-choose you, either because I like you or you are a very slow runner.")

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com