2004-05-09

I don't think anyone gave me this advice, but it's the best I could think of when someone asked me for advice the other day (and, incidientally, is at the core of management consulting): find smart people - people smarter than you - and make it so they are looking out for your best interests. Seriously. Ingratiate yourself with smart people and give them a reason to want you to succeed. Like marry them or pay them.

Who titles their memoir "My Life"? I mean, that's what the book is about, right? Try harder, you hack. Let's take this titling approach to Amazon recommendations:

"Less Than Zero" by Bret Easton Ellis (I've actually read this) is "Reagan-Era Rich College Kids Do Drugs and Have Sex"

"Kitchen Confidential" by Tony Bourdain is "Restaurant Kitchen Reality Show Except It's a Book, So You Have to Read"

"When Genius Failed: The Rise and Fall of Long-Term Capital Management" is just "The Rise and Fall of Long-Term Capital Management"

"Liar's Poker" is "My Life (as a Bond Trader at Salomon in the Mid 1980s)" (read this, too)

Saturday Dave Henderson, who might be one of the worst baseball commentators in existence (since my frame of reference is pretty limited by what I can experience on local or national broadcasts, I'll toss Tim McCarver, Dave Valle, Jay Buhner and Rick Rizzs into the mix. I leave out Ron Fairly because while he's completely unclever, he reminds me of a lot of old men I know) attempted to argue that there's not a big difference between the Mariners and Yankees - pointing the records, most notably. One very big difference between these teams is that the Mariners do not score runs. The only teams who are presently scoring runs at a lower rate are the Pirates, Devil Rays and Expos - heroes of failure, all of them. Baseball, a game that requires the winner of a game to score at least 1 run, is difficult to succeed at if you refuse to score runs. Also, fact checking baseball announcers in real time is now a "hobby" of mine. I'm turning into such a crazy old man.

I got to watch "My So-Called Life" this weekend at mom and pop's house. I sure wish I got Noggin. (Also, I contributed 2 of these facts, which makes me feel horribly creepy in a way)

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com