2004-06-16

Saw "Saved!" last night. Funny, okay, nice way to spend 90 minutes. Which actually reminded me of something from the DC trip. At the Nat'l Gallery, a friend and I were kind of joking with each other because we couldn't care less about all of this old, name brand art. That almost anything we had an interest in seeing (this Max Weber, not this Max Weber, Bellows painted stuff you could hang in a room with a bunch of taxidermied bears, wolves and sasquatches) was 20th century - it was in the much less busy wing of the museum, or a different building entirely. We were trying to figure out why and I think it's because all of the classical stuff is one thing: religious stuff or still life. And the treatment of the subject matter is all very similar. It's boring. Also, the The most hypnotically beautiful thing is the David Gordon video installation in the Hirshorn. Hours. You could stare at it for hours.

Skinned my knee the other day, too. I haven't seen that much of my own blood in long time. Very strange.

My personal ad:
I want your social network.

You: human

Me: male, 23, lazy

You: cool

Me: achingly not cool

You: have large social network

Me: have a Brita water filter, Tivo, tres geeky office job

You: willing to let me leech off of said social network

Me: willing to let you boss me around

A picture of the cranes that I pretend are dinosaurs every morning. Grrrrrrrrrrrr. There's actually plotlines for them. The middle on is the leader - he was captain of the football team in high school (Chad). The one on the left is his wife, who went to a liberal arts college and talked about Flaubert all the time (Tina). The one on the right is the leader's frat buddy from college, who is an amusing, lovable bachelor with a drinking problem (Randy). Tina bitches about Randy's feet being on the table, but doesn't complain about the scores of empty beer cans he leaves all over the house. Randy secretly has a thing for Tina.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com