2004-08-18

On my way home from a film show with Candace (brag - I have friends), I stop off at the grocery store to pick up some stuff with which I could make dinner. On my way in I see someone I think I recognize, but I'm not that fascinated by my past to confront this. I pick up my dinner supplies and get in the shortest line - behind her. She looks at me and I ask, "Did you go to high school at XYZ?" Apparently I am more fascinated by my past than I thought. "I was about to ask you the same thing." It continues in predictable fashion from there.

Here's the problem I had with the whole experience: suddenly confronting anything from my past makes the glaring personal issues that I haven't confronted since high school come to fore. And here's the other thing: I still don't really know who she is. I'm about 70% on her first name and maybe 50% on her last initial. But now I know she lives 3 blocks from me.

When I walk past this store, I always see this book, titled "Bonefishing!" Not "Bonefishing" - it's "Bonefishing!" I suppose people who buy it are enthusiastic about bonefishing, but it seems to further devalue the exclamation point by using it in this way.

It's news! Young men watch television!!!!

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com