2004-08-30

Such a good movie. It was shot in HD, which is so much better than DV. This was the director's first feature length film after a background in music videos and commercials and the style is so un-freaking-believable. Almost every shot is absolutely epic. It's not trivial or insubstantial - it's extremely character driven - but it's visual style has a voice and language of its own. If I had a script, I would want him to shoot it. His ideas are so well articulated visually and in such an amazing way. See this movie if you have the chance. Superb movie - like a 1350 to 1380 out of 1600.

I've been having some trouble with basic human functions lately - sleeping and eating. I think it's latent stress or something, but I can't do either. I look like absolute shit, but it has made for quality movie consumption time, though, and prolific reading. Not to get LJ on your ass, but I somehow feel like I'm going to be pushed into a maze or just seriously punished soon.

Like I got to watch The Graduate again. I'm always struck by how well structured that movie is - the way Ben shifts from reaction and passivity to action. And, of course, sweet jeebus, I wish I had a Mrs. Robinson. Which I why I think I'm going to start hanging out at Cascadia after work - because that place seems like it is swimming with moneyed older women.

But I do still eat, though. Just not normally. Look: I Know there's good General Tso's chicken. I've had good General. If I had a car, I would be replete with good General. But I don't. I've probably had it at 10 places in the past 6 months and it all blows. Especially the place that inaccurately describes their General as "best in city!" - it's some of the worst, actually. Lately my dips into the pool of Chinese food have been limited to this vegan place that is nothing if not consistently good.

I found out that someone at an MLB team has read some of my semi-sensical rantings about baseball that incorporate lots of equations and numbers. I was really pleased by that, but also scared. Having some measure of legitimacy among people is like having a kid - you have to nurture it and pay attention to it and feed it. And I've said before that I wouldn't want to make baseball number jamming a career, but that's a lie. If I got offered that, I'd quit my job right now in a second because I'm so freaking bored. There's been so little to do I'm aching. Working for a bunch of stupid, old, disgusting white men doing things they probably don't quite understand sounds okay to me.

Second hand name dropping: one of my friends from high school has met and talked baseball with both presidential candidates.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com