2006-03-28

Idea for fundraiser: have it on the same day, same location as another fundraiser to confuse people into sending checks to you. When the time comes for the event, just cut a lot of corners (like for a golf tournament, have it on a Playstation instead of an actual golf course) to save money.

I was sick for like 4 or 5 days over the past week and what sucks about being sick is how little you remember over that time. This is what I remember: a basketball game, and today when I stared at the dog licking himself for a good 30 minutes while I ate oatmeal. Also I went out to get some Vault soda (it tastes like soda!) and egg noodles.

I woke up really late yesterday, which was completely unimportant, but I had a horrible horrible dream about a bus ride and my old boss. I've been trying to cut down on lying about dumb stupid stuff at work and I'm doing okay with it.

Idea that I'm sure is already done: vacation-less (or camera-less) vacation photos. No matter where people go, they just wind up with the same shitty pictures - 2 people in front of a landmark, 2 people in front of a statue, 2 people in front of a bridge, etc. So you send in a picture of you, your travel companion (if any) and the name of the place you are traveling to. You are photoshopped into the cliche landmarks of wherever you go and you don't have to take those stupid pictures ever again. This could actually be extended to a complete vacation-less vacation experience, in which you are given: a Hard Rock Cafe T-shirt of wherever you went, $50 worth of gifty crap from wherever you didn't go, and some anecdotes (the airline lost my luggage!, the food is crazy!, the prostitute had a disease!*, the humidity is humid!, the drivers are dangerous!, etc).

* - Great idea on how to let go of any chance for tenure before I even go to graduate school: a paper that uses Craigslist data to come up with a hedonic (really hedonic!) model of sex worker services pricing, by sex act.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com