2006-08-10

Saw "La Moustache". I really like this movie. It's basically about how little control we have over our identity formation - that self-identity is ultimately about the perception of others and there's only so much we can do to affect that. Or that's what I got out of it. It's basically like "Memento" except there's no violence and there's a guy with a moustache. And, you know, in French. I recommend it.

There's a guy who, I guess, is moving into my building. I don't know how to describe him, except he has these sort of nervous movements that are simultaneously almost thoughtless and completely focused. It's very distracting being near him. I have no idea who he is or what he does, but I just suspect that he has some problems with his credit and he eats a lot of sugary or convenience food.

There were 2 guys who met on the bus and one of them really wanted to talk about house music. Wouldn't stop talking about it. The other guy, I sense he was trying to change the subject from house music to something else, says, "Are there any good clubs in Seattle?" House music guy says, "For house music?!?" At one point he was attempting to answer questions about how it is made: "So they don't make any music?" "They mix it!" "So they buy the records and then play them?" "Well, yeah." By the end, it was almost like the writing you'd get from a Christopher Guest movie. Absolutely great.

My new hobby: putting on a suit to do errands.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com