2006-09-03

Okay, things that happened, in order of importance in my mind.
-In my discretionary account I backed off of equities a lot
-Picked up my new suit and it is super. I feel like a hero when I wear it. The pants are absolutely perfect. These pants point out all of the things I hate about my other pants.
-I bought a new lamp that I am really thrilled about... but it was (cringe) $200. I also bought Stephen Elliott's new book "My Girlfriend Comes to the City and Beats Me Up", and that was much less.
-I emptied out all of the history and cookies in my browser, so you don't know that I'm looking for things like girlfriends who will come to the city and beat me up.
-Went out drinking the other night and there was this girl who was with us who rocked the crap out of this super-awesome black and white dress. Easily the classiest one in our group of lowlifes. She was wearing flip flops (I think she may be a bit self-conscious about her height - probably 5 foot 10ish), but she still looked like a total movie star. Made me wish my sister would wear more dresses, rather than the regrettable state of her closet. I just wish she were classier, that's all - not the type that will wind up doing shots with bad innuendo or rhyming names at a suburban chain restaurant at 11:45pm on a Wednesday. The intern with great hair was wearing some really awesome knee-high Jimmy Choo boots, too. The boys were wearing jeans and black T-shirts. Or a button down shirt with - gasp - stripes. Blah.

(While I'm talking about clothes - I went out this evening basically in all of downtown I saw one girl wearing a great medium-navyish dress and a guy in charcoal pants, light cotton pink oxford shirt and black loafers and I think everyone else was either wearing jeans or short pants and a T-shirt, except for one guy in a pretty obnoxious 5 button jacket)

My boss gets back from his month-long vacation Tuesday. We're due to have our little career direction chat. There's a job in research at a BB investment bank that would be perfection (in NY, of course), but I want to stay here and wear out my welcome a little more. I haven't quite alienated myself from every group of people in the city.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com