2006-09-04

SO IT LOOKS LIKE WE CAN SAY GOODBYE TO CIVIL SOCIETY

What NERVE do you have to pressure wash the roof of a restaurant across the street from me at NOON? For shame! And to continue this madness until TWO PM? Hello?!?! What the hell is going on? It's like the universe is completely empty, except for this insolent cad and his big noisy pressure washer. If I weren't so reluctant to get out of bed, I'd stand at my window and give you a dirty look.

Not unrelated, but I've looked through my etiquette books and I cannot find any section on which holster you should choose for your handgun if you are going on a date and will be wearing a suit: shoulder, waist band or ankle, or none and just shove it into one of your pockets. I think it's probably a waist or ankle - since the shoulder one makes a bit of a scene if you take off your jacket. Perhaps that's appropriate if you have like really showy handgun, but if you have a more utilitarian one that is just intended to shoot people, not impress them, then you'd want something different. But if you wear your pants a tad short and closer fitting then the ankle holster might not be a real great choice. This is an interesting question. Something to ask a waiter, bartender, or maitre'd, I think. Naturally, if you just decide to wear a bandolier then the choice becomes a matter of personal comfort, not etiquette, since wearing a bandolier to a restaurant is sort of like sneezing into your soup.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com