2006-11-14

Did not go to work today. There's a moment when I realize that everyone I work with will not be in the office the next day. After that moment, it is incredibly difficult to show up for work. There's basically one possible turning point - it's when I normally wake up. The reversal has happened only one time. The rest of the day normally goes like this: I intermittently check my work email, watch television and look for something for lunch. Usually something I later regret. I went shopping recently - I have a full range of breakfast cereals to choose from - Crunch Berries to Peanut Butter Crunch to Cinnamon Toast Crunch - so I don't really NEED to leave my apartment, but I do. While I believe that it is important to cultivate your madness with the proper amount of isolation, it is equally important to share your madness with the rest of the world. There's a balance.

The problem with not going to work is that I always forget to listen to my voicemail, which tips people off when I do remember to do it - at 9 or 10 at night, returning their calls with half-drunk emails which include non-standard punctuation.

Been noticing people with incorrectly shaped heads lately. Some are too small, some are too large. I'm not sure what we can really do about it - except get them distracting tattoos or belt buckles, to draw attention away from it. This whole thing is actually probably because of the government - something like the "pure" tap water they give us or daylight savings time. These, by the way, are the same people who use the word "app" when referring to small plates of things before main courses and, if they were medically able to possess accurate self-awareness, would cite "complaining about service in casual dining restaurants" as one of the things that gets them off.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com