2007-02-19

I've been riding a wave of disappointment lately. First, I wasn't able to find Coke Zero for under $4.50/12 pk this past week. Second, I bought Cherry Coke Zero and it sucks too much. It tastes way too much of the wrong kind of phony baloney cherry. Reminds me of the TV show "How I Met Your Mother" - self-consciously "with it" jokes and a laugh track.

The Disappointment Wave is probably a poor time to buy a new suit and blazer, but I hardly ever come across the type that I really truly like in fat-boy size. The only thing I'm really worried about is maybe sleeve length and possibly the overall length on one of the jackets. My arms are by no means long, but if it does wind up being too short, then I can just have the pants chopped too high and say it's a bespoke Thom Browne or an homage to Pee-Wee Herman.

Saved By The Bell is good for its window onto the conscience of America, but the clothes the adults wear are interesting, if only from a historical perspective. Mr. Belding wears a surprising amount of unvented peak lapel double breasted numbers with wide, generously padded shoulders. He is presented as an out-of-touch weirdo, but that's what was in magazines at the time. He also tends to wear some spread collar shirts with ties in a 4-in-hand knot, which doesn't fill out the space well at all.

Ways to Tell if You are in Seattle or Tacoma without Using Sight
1. Smell/Taste - Tacoma smells more like pee, Seattle sometimes fish
2. Feel - The ground in Tacoma is way more pebbly, like people leave chains on their car all year. The pebbles get stuck in your leather soled shoes and it just sucks.
3. Hearing - Seattle will be busier and the panhandlers more numerous and aggressive. Tacoma also has beeping sounds for crosswalks.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com