2007-02-21

I have conference calls with people in Sydney twice a week at at their 10am. They are UTC+11 right now and I am UTC-8, so it's 3pm the previous day for me. The Energy Policy Act of 2005 changes my time so it starts at 4pm for me for one month. I can live with that - not happily, but I can. Later, when Sydney goes off DST, the calls become 5pm for me (then I am UTC-7, they become UTC+10). That means I won't get out of the office until 6pm. The words I used when I figured this out were not appropriate for use in mixed company. Anyway, it means I'm going to show up for work until even later.

I'm not a 'steak guy' (steak guys typically own at least one sports jersey and almost certainly a stripey-shirt without a button down collar, which causes them to look like they have a cheaply made non-iron-coated 60/40 blend set of peacock plumage). However, I had the best piece of beef in my life last night - cooked sous-vide.

Nothing else is good right now. It's midnight and I'm going to go iron some shirts and vacuum.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com