2008-08-05

There's a guy who writes up his reviews of his weekend breakfasts at local restaurants once every week/month or so. In dozens of meals, I think he may have had a single positive experience. Each restaurant, it seems, is worse than the last. The food is inedible, the service is awful, the prices are unconscionable. Everything about every restaurant sucks. Our Lady of Perpetual Disappointment.

I love this guy so much and a lot of it is because I'm not quite sure from where his standards of experience come. Is it something that we could achieve if only we demanded more from our restaurants? Is it simply a refined, cultured, exacting understanding of the nature and quality of breakfast potato dishes? Or (my hope) is it that his standards are so unbelievably foreign that he's probably doomed to wander the streets, seeking something that nobody but him can even imagine? My guess is that he's just a pissy misanthrope that kind of enjoys being unhappy with things and that's fine, too.

I rarely notice restaurant service, good or bad. And when I do notice bad service, I tend to let it pass because I desperately want people to like me even if they are abusing me. I only really notice service when it is extremely unusual. For example, I recall one time when our server's shift happened to end in the middle of our meal and he disappeared without saying a word to anyone. We sat there for a while, waiting for something to happen. Maybe an hour or hour and a half. I did not tip 15%.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com