2008-10-10

Does the sports section of a paper need a letters to the editor section? I do not think it does. There are 4 kinds of letters they print: 1) "I like it when they win," 2) "I do not like it when they lose," 3) Moral outrage, 4) "I know what is best for everyone." However, I will concede that the printed page has a higher level of discourse than sports talk radio, which narrowly edges out dogs barking at each other.

I was on a call today with a guy and I found myself throwing my hands up in exasperated frustration way more often than I normally do. I'm not sure if I've ever written so many swear words when taking notes on a meeting before. Look: talking pointillism needs to stop. If you don't know about something, you don't talk about it. You let someone else talk about it. Reading a 2 page handout full of phrases or a powerpoint presentation isn't expertise, it is passing familiarity. Just say, "You're a research guy and you are smart, but I'm a marketing guy and I'm a moron" and we can end the conversation right there.

My big success for the week was that I got to work earlier on each successive day: 9:30 on Monday (bad), 9:00 on Tuesday (still bad), 8:30 on Wednesday (not bad), 8:00 on Thursday (good), 7:30 on Friday (really good). I like the bus that gets me to work at 9 or 9:30 - there's a girl who reminds me of someone with whom I went to elementary school, I cross paths with her less often on the way home - but the assumption is that you have drinking problem if you show up to work that late too often.

Today, my brother, age 25, took action on his concern about hair loss. You won, Merck. Congratulations.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com