2008-10-13

Beautiful weekend, more sailing. Sailing has wonderful words. The ones I like best are gunwale and halyard. I'm a little surprised I never met any kids in swimming lessons with those names.

An example of my struggles with British spelling: "Do you thinque New Yourque has fewre investment banqueres than London"

I think my boss is taking a new job and my new boss is going to be this total toady crapball that I don't like very much. He makes me want to wash my hands. It would be par for the course in this job - something goes okay, something goes horribly wrong.

Think of the recent spy-type and conspiracy-ish movies. Now think of the ones where the CIA or whatever has the capability of tracking every goddamn thing you do. Now, do these two lists overlap by pretty much everything? This idea is so pervasive and so overdone that it is just stupid. I swore audibly when it showed up in "Body of Lies" ("Oh, for fuck's sake!" - if you were in the theater at the same time as me, I apologize). They need to pull back from this stuff. It isn't creative, it's a reductive, boring feature of movies that seems to be used mostly to grease the tracks of the plot. "The Bank Job" is actually instructive in a solution to this mess. They essentially conceded that the audience knows this is a bank heist film and the parts that would normally account for the bulk of the film are glossed over. It says, "here's the shot of this scene, you know what happens, we're moving on." Spy movies would be advised to do this instead of giving people super techno powers.

Other movies from the weekend: Appaloosa - Jeremy Irons talks like Daniel Day Lewis in "There Will Be Blood." The people talk a lot for a Western.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com