2008-10-15

I'm having to write my "accomplishments" for the year (because our financial system won't be around by the end of the year, and my company will be impacted by that, we are doing our reviews earlier) and I am having a rough time doing it because I haven't done much. I would characterize 2008 as less of a year of projects and accomplishments, and more as a year of ideas. And this is difficult, because ideas are elusive, like butterflies, and - also like butterflies - if you try to trap them and stick them under a jar or write them down on paper, you can't appreciate them fully. Ideas and butterflies are best appreciated serendipitously - you get lost, walk down the wrong street, sit down in the park, and a butterfly lands on your shoulder. Or you talk to me in the elevator and I plant my idea in your head. That's how I want my review done. In an elevator. 45 seconds seems like enough time.

I was looking for a clean bowl for some cereal and I didn't have any (I only own 2 bowls - the line between rad bachelor and sad bastard is mostly marketing). So I wonder: how could we eat cereal off of plates? Milk Jell-O. Think about it for a minute. Then go to your cabinet and pull out some Knox unflavored gelatin and mix up some jell-o milk. Wait until it sets. Then cut some milk squares and pour cereal on top. Then go sit on the couch and eat cereal with a fork. Sort of an unfortunate realization of ice cream, which is delicious with cereal (vanilla ice cream is the only way to eat Rice Krispies).

Today I saw a USA Today newspaper and their weather section is strange. They seem to just evenly space out the cities that get listed, so you wind up with cities like Bonners Ferry, Idaho (pop 2500) on the map.

One of the better movies I've seen lately is the Lee Atwater movie, "Boogie Man". There aren't many movies I wish were longer - "Burn After Reading" was one, this was another.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com