2008-11-03

Yesterday I got around to watching Shadow of a Doubt. Suspense with Hitchcock is so different from the modern suspense films. Deftness, restraint, control, teasing. Modern suspense films grab you by your arms and hang you off a bridge. It's Thomas Keller versus Hooter's, or Grace Kelly versus Anna Nicole Smith. Porsche 550 versus a Hummer H2 or maybe Pontiac Aztek. Fun fact: the Pontiac Aztek was made in an area of Mexico that wasn't actually controlled by the Aztec empire. Study questions: Why do people intentionally misspell things for namez of productz?

This is what I am going to say about voting
I am pretty good about voting. And people who vote can get really preachy about it, like it is a big personal sacrifice, democracy, freedom, etc. If I were such a person, I would probably consider my regular voting among my top 3 qualities. My CPR and lifeguard certifications lapsed a few years ago, so it's definitely in the top 5. Checking my voting history, I vote slightly less often than the mayor of my city but slightly more often than the commissioner of public lands. About the same as this Bill Gates And a lot more often than Eddie Vedder.

I went to elementary school with a girl named Arcadia. Acting on the impulse which is eroding modern society - that, insofar as we can google things, a sense of wonder and imagination is not much a part of our lives anymore - I am underwhelmed and unsurprised to find she went to Wazzu. She shares her name with a spin off Duran Duran, who wrote this genuinely terrible song about elections. It is about 9 minutes long, but watching it feels more like 20 or 30 minutes.

- next

  • Mrs. Potatohead on 2012-08-14
  • Classical on 2012-05-25
  • 4th & Vine on 2012-04-10
  • - on 2012-03-16
  • Dr Mario on 2012-01-09
  • hosted by DiaryLand.com